The IAAF announce Eliud Kipchoge of Kenya and Caterine Ibarguren of Colombia as male and female athletes of 2018.

MONTE CARLO, MONACO — In award ceremonies held today, the International Association of Athletics Federations announced the recipients of the 2018 Male and Female Athletes of the Year.

Eliud Kipchoge, the Kenyan marathoner and reigning Olympic champion, was awarded the male category, notably for his remarkable marathon time this year of 2:01:39, in Berlin, Germany.

Caterine Ibarguren, the Colombian triple jumper and reigning Olympic champion, was awarded the female category, for an especially dominant year, including a sweep of all eight triple jump competitions she entered; gold medals in both the triple jump and long jump in the Central American and Caribbean Games, Continental Cup, and Diamond League Finals; a world-leading mark of 14.96m in the triple jump; and a Colombia national record of 6.93m in the long jump.

For more details, please see the IAAF press release here on the awards and ceremonies.

Filed Under:

0 0 votes
Article Rating
Notify of
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments


We're not around right now. But you can send us an email and we'll get back to you, asap.

Would love your thoughts, please comment.x

Log in with your credentials


Forgot your details?

Create Account